S2000

Image

Today, I had a chance to take some pics of my friend’s Honda S2000 (AP1). Sadly, we didn’t have a time to take some driving pics. Had GoPro too… but maybe next time (weekend).

Now, S2000 is a great car. 2 liter, 4 cylinders producing 240HP. 120HP per liter is amazing numbers and it revs all the way up to 9,000 RPM. 50:50 weight distribution and low rotational inertia was made by having engine mounted behind the front axle. Without a doubt, S2000 is great car… but there were few things I, personally wasn’t really happy with.

Height of the seat. OEM seats sit higher than I’ve expected. Of course, I can buy aftermarket low seats, but that’s not what I’m saying. Seat felt great & comfy for sure. I felt, I was sitting higher than I should be. Maybe that’s due to X-Bone frame & rigid of bottom. Next thing is limited to 2nd gen S2000 (AP2), it came with 2.2 liter (F22C1) instead of 2 liter (F20C), result sacrificing RPM and gain more TQ. To gain 9 TQ, it lost 800 RPM, I don’t think, it was a great sacrifice/trade. Lost 800 RPM of VTEC they could of used.

AP2 may lost 800 RPM, but they sure gain other parts. 17’s to reduce the oversteering that can cause lost time in time attack. Springs, damper, shocks, along with “Suspension Geometry” was improve reducing toe-in under cornering.

I’m very interesting see the comparison between S2000 (AP2) & FR-S/BRZ. FR-S/BRZ been better? I don’t know about that, but will be interesting to see how well FR-S/BRZ do in corner in & out speed.

Leave a Reply

