Lovely Pros & Cons of Metric

“When it rains, it pours.” It have been that way for me with my current car. When something breaks, it breaks more than I’ve expected. Clutch, head gasket, starter, alternator, clutch fork, & lists just goes on & on.

This time was this

20121223-180823.jpg

That’s a serpentine belt tension adjuster bolt. Well it’s not too bad to replace, it’s a simple bolt. I know the bolt spec: M8 1.25 80mm, so just need to find one… til I’ve found out, in US, it’s almost impossible to find it. Went to Auto Zone, O’Reilly, Home Depot, & Lowe’s… Nothing. Closest they had was M8 1.25 50mm. Temporarily fix, I’m using that by using longer serpentine belt… but not for long.

Anyways, what I’m trying to say is. Why in US, so hard to find metric parts. When I went to Home Depot & Lowe’s, there were hundreds & hundreds of all different types of standard size bolts… but only hand full of metric bolts were there.

Anyone know anywhere online that sells all different options of metric bolts, please let me know

Leave a Reply

