Image
Last week, I received a call from Group-A Autosports saying they have Kraft Werks Supercharger they have been working on and see if I’m interested in check them out. My answer to that was… Of course! If something to do with FR-S, BRZ, 86 or a chick, I’ll be happy to check em out!

I was going to LA for “vacation”… but it became little “business” trip.

Image
…so sadly Macross World Convention had to wait a bit.

Image
After few chat on the phone to get their address and appointment. Here I was Group-A Autosports/Skunk2 Racing building.

Image
& here was black & white BRZ (Panda BRZ? lol). replaced with several carbon fiber parts. They used this BRZ for Import Tuner FR Shootout.

Image
Here’s the Kraft Werks Supercharger kit. First thing first. Kraft Werks SC is different from Jackson Racing SC. Yes, they both used Rotrex C30-94 unit, but after that, they’re using different parts and design. Like ALT BRZ explained in this post.

Now for the dyno charts:

Image
OEM 91-octane BRZ with no modifications VERSUS 91-octane BRZ with supercharger kit (OEM headers/exhaust)
Image
OEM 91-octane BRZ with no modifications VERSUS E85 BRZ with supercharger kit (Skunk2 headers/Skunk2 exhaust)

DSC00641
Using ECUTek and 11row intercooler to keep this kit cooled & controlled.

DSC00628
Interesting & plus side of this supercharger kit, I thought was Independent Drive System with Toothed Belt System. IF (again IF) belt breaks, you won’t be left stranded at track or worse middle of nowhere. At least you can drive home or to shop to get that fixed. Toothed belt will help not slip even you’re pushing the supercharger!

DSC00633
Like I’ve wrote in Dyno 2, they’re currently working on S2 Header & Exhaust system. Yes, they’re working on that right now & looks interesting setup… & yes, it’s EL header & no, it doesn’t come in SC kit.

Here’s the sad part… well, not really sad, sad, but for me it was sad. I wasn’t able to test drive it. due to it’s still pre-production kit and this visit was surprised visit, so they had different MAP in there (MAP they had was over 11psi instead of 9psi lol), I wasn’t able to test drive to see that extra 125WHP as they claim to have.

I had a chance to drive, Vortech SC, AVO TC, & HKS SC… I was hoping to compare this kit to see the difference between other force induction FR-S/BRZ. They said, they’ll fly me back to test drive to get the impression for this supercharger kit, so sound of that S2 header & exhaust system had to wait til… prob Nov?

Kraft Werks Supercharger kit should start selling in Nov.

Thank you Frank & Dave for letting me come and check their shop answered all the questions
For more picture, check my facebook page: ichitaka05 Auto Blog Facebook

Kraftwerks Supercharger

Leave a Reply

